top of page
  • Writer's pictureitsabiinspired

A bit of Hannover


Getting the opportunity

Marktkirche, Hannover


During my credit related internship for university, I was unsure of what I was going to do next. I thought of getting a job at the organization I was interning at although they didn’t have any open positions. It was either doing that or finding a job in Canada so I could be with my family. Nearing the end of my internship my dad sent me an opportunity through the church and I was conflicted about it. This opportunity was a year-long internship in Germany to do some of my favourite things, which included advocacy for social, financial, and environmental justice. I was conflicted because it meant not seeing my family for over a year. Yikes! I still applied reluctantly and got shortlisted, did the interview, and got the job. I was no longer conflicted because I would be knocking off three things off my list of “20 things to do before I get married”. This was now the beginning of major adulting and many opportunities.



My apartments


My regular view from my bathroom window at Garbsen.

My 1st studio apartment was gorgeous and located in Jädekamp, Garbsen. I had a beautiful view that I could see from my bathroom window, and I loved my kitchen. I finally had my own space. I didn’t have neighbours but the landlord would check on me from time to time to see if I was ok and needed anything. There was a winery downstairs that I never tried, sadly. The apartment studio was located outside of the busyness of the city which I appreciated. I worked in the city and it took me about 25-28 minutes to commute by tram. It’s a contrast to what I was used to, in Kingston, Jamaica, I was used to living at most 10 minutes away from work or school.

I then moved to my permanent apartment. It was an apartment complex for young professionals and students. It's a little bit on the expensive side but it's worth it. Check out the FIZZ apartments. It is perfect for making friends if you are extraverted. They have many in-house activities, parties, and competitions. It's also great if you rather not make friends and want to be left alone (not something I recommend doing when living alone in a new country).


A few of my first English speaking encounters


My first link up with new people from all over the world was done with a group called Hannover for English speakers. They go on many exciting group trips around Hannover and have many tandem language sessions. This is where you could teach persons your native language and have them teach you German. It was ok at the beginning, but it started to feel like German speed

Hannover for English speakers

dating. Yikes! Persons wanted to become more than friends quickly and I was not having that. Butttt...it's great if you want to make friends or spark a new relationship!


I also went to an International English-speaking church, RELISH (Reformed English Language International Service in Hannover) once a month, and watched church from home on other Sundays. That was something I had to get used to because I was very active at my home church but I also appreciated the time to be creative in how I worshipped. I sang hymns if I felt like today and then-contemporary songs if I felt like the next week. Alter calls were shorter and prayer lengths varied. If you are ever in Hannover take a stop by there on a Sunday. It’s a warm and friendly community and they are always opened to have guests there. You are guaranteed to get international experience. It is the 4th Sunday of every month at 11:30 am at Lavesallee 4, 30169, Hannover.


You'll get lost!


I must admit I got lost a couple of times before I knew the city well. Hannover is a small city in Lower Saxony, Germany but it can have you walking around for hours. I found that some nearby or adjoining streets looked like they belonged to two different towns or cities which made it hard for me to keep track of where I was going. You'll eventually find your way around but when you do get lost, it is best to use your google maps even if you think you know where you are going. Ensure you familiarize yourself with the German language making sure to know the basics so you can get around. You will find some mean Germans who would rather not talk to you and some who get excited to speak with a foreigner and would gladly assist you.


When you do get a chance to visit Germany, visit Hannover! It is not usually the first city that comes to mind when visiting but it offers a lot of history, coziness, and safety! It is pretty safe at night which was one of my favourite things about living there!




Vielen Dank fürs Lesen

Tschüss!


Thank you for reading, Bye!



19 views0 comments
bottom of page