top of page
  • Writer's pictureitsabiinspired

The Other Daughter


The prodigal son story- Luke 15:11-32


Do you have Bible stories that you’ve read so many times you even know how to recite it without looking at the Bible? There are so many Bible stories like that, some are: Daniel in the lion’s den, David and Goliath, The three Hebrew boys, Jesus’ birth and the Prodigal son. Sometimes when you read these stories over and over, if you are paying keen attention, you may get a different message each time you read it. In this devotional we’ll focus on the Prodigal son. Usually when talking about this story, the relationship between the younger son and the father is emphasized. However, one morning when I was having devotions I got a new message from it. In the devotionals the question was asked ‘Which son are you?’. When I thought about it, I realized most, if not all times I am ‘the other son’. So, this time I decided to focus on the older brother. For this lesson we will replace ‘son’ with ‘daughter’.


I thought about how the older daughter must have felt about the father’s reaction to the prodigal daughter. After squandering her inheritance to nothing the daughter came back home and came back to her father rejoicing and celebrating her. When the older sister found out what was happening, she was furious!


“Look! All these years I’ve been slaving for you and never disobeyed your orders, Yet, you never gave me even a young goat so I could celebrate with my friends…”
“ 'My daughter', the father said, 'you are always with me, and everything I have is yours…' “

I can just imagine the oldest daughter working continuously, probably doing everything the father had asked her to do and more. She may have done it willingly or reluctantly at times, but it was done. So I understood her anger when she saw her father having a party for the younger sister, slaughtering a goat, giving her jewelry and a new robe. There are many times, where I also feel that the things that I do and have done have gone unnoticed by God or by people and this gets me upset. When the older sister asked why are you throwing a party for my sister after all she did. The father said “daughter, EVERYTHING I HAVE BELONGS TO YOU.”


Now listen, when I read this my heart melted because I read it thinking of God as ‘the father’ and me as the older Sister. I was reminded that God doesn't disregard us or forget the sacrifices we make for him or others. We don’t go unnoticed. He sees us and he's telling us to continue to try doing the good work and staying steadfast in Him. He has rewards for us on earth and in heaven. Also, remember not to envy people's celebration. If the go astray in their Christian life, when they do come back, we should join in, in the welcoming of them. The father, like God, would have all right to rejoice that his child is coming back to him.




39 views0 comments
bottom of page